Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Nominees Open for 24th Train Award

You are encouraged to nominate a local business for the Chamber’s George Francis Train Award to recognize a business leader in international trade.

The Chamber’s major trade award will be presented at the World Trade Center Tacoma Annual Globe Dinner, Thursday, September 6, 2012.

·         The George Francis Train International Business Commemorative is presented annually by the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber to recognize a local business or individual who has made a significant contribution to international business.

Previous recipients are:

      23  2011    Boeing Company
      22  2010    Lt. Gov. Brad Owen
      21  2009    Emerald Home Furnishings
      20  2008    Jack Fabulich, Port of Tacoma
      19  2007    Kirk Company
      18  2006    BNSF Railway
      17  2005    Toray Composites (America), Inc.
      16  2004    Bill Matthaei, Roman Meal Company
      15  2003    Steve Seher, Auto Warehousing, Inc.
      14  2002    Sagem MORPHO, Inc.
      13  2001    Art Morrison, Art Morrison Enterprises
       12   2000    L. T. Murray, Jr., Murray Pacific Corp.
       11   1999    Kyle Smith, Smith-Western Company
       10   1998    Phil Lelli, I.L.W.U., Local #23
         9   1997    Greg Schellberg, Evergreen Partnership
         8   1996    Weyerhaeuser Company
         7   1995    George Russell, Frank Russell Company
         6  1994    Hun & Chun Choe, J.C. Auto Part Group, Ltd.
         5  1993    Darrell W. Jesse, Jesse Engineering
         4  1992    Fred Haley, Brown & Haley/Almond Roca Intl.
         3  1991    Chuck Doan, Port of Tacoma
         2  1990    Ted Kennard, B.A. McKenzie & Co.
         1   1989    Kathy Cobb, Puget Sound National Bank

This award was developed in recognition of the tremendous growth in international business locally and for its significant economic and cultural contribution to our community.  The award honors an individual or organization making a significant contribution to the international business community of Tacoma-Pierce County.  Nominations should address these objectives.  Nominations for the George Francis Train Commemorative are to be made directly to the Chamber.  No prescribed forms are required.

Nominations for the G.F. Train International Business Commemorative should be made by Friday, June 15 to Gary Brackett at garyb@tacomachamber.org or P.O. Box 1933, Tacoma, WA  98401.

The World Trade Center Tacoma presents four awards.  Nominations for those awards should be made directly to the World Trade Center Tacoma by June 8. To see the Nomination Requirements, click here.  To download a Nomination Form, click here. Self-nominations are accepted.
  • EXPORTER OF THE YEAR - A company that has significantly contributed to exports from Washington State
  • IMPORTER OF THE YEAR - A company that has significantly contributed to imports to Washington State
  • SERVICE PROVIDER OF THE YEAR- A company (e.g., bank, freight forwarder, insurer, attorney, accounting firm, customs broker, educational institution, or other organization) that has provided the business community with significant assistance in international trade or international business
  • EMERGING BUSINESS OF THE YEAR - A company, 3 years old or less, in Washington State that has shown significant promise in the field of international trade

No comments:

Post a Comment